Hall of Fame

Award Background and Information
The Association of Australian Convention Bureaux (AACB) advances the success of convention bureaux across Australia. AACB's influential membership includes 16 convention bureaux, representing more than 1,700 industry operators.

The AACB Hall of Fame award, was established in 2015 to acknowledge the Association’s 30th anniversary. Its purpose is to recognise individuals from or associated with Australian Convention Bureaux who have made significant contributions to the advancement of the business events industry, and to provide a historical narrative of the leaders who have grown and nurtured the industry to the present day.

Criteria and Eligibility
The Hall of Fame inductee would be an individual at any level within or associated with an Australian Convention Bureau who has demonstrated a significant and long term contribution to the field through their leadership, innovation and creativity and in turn has advanced the professionalism and stature of the business events industry.

This may include involvement with AACB board leadership or specific efforts at the local level where their contributions have resulted in growing or positively altering the direction of business events marketing regionally, nationally or internationally.

This acknowledgement will be the highest honour the Association awards. The Hall of Fame recipients will be chosen annually by the Hall of Fame Committee and up to three individuals maximum will be inducted each year.

Processes and Deadlines
Nominations to the Hall of Fame will be open to all members of AACB through an annual nomination process. Any convention bureau member is eligible to nominate and can submit for consideration. The inductee would be invited to attend an AACB sponsored event, such as the annual Gala Dinner, to be presented with the Hall of Fame recognition. The Hall of Fame will become a permanent part of the AACB website and a standing exhibit displayed during the annual AACB Staff Conference.       

Proudly Sponsored By     

AACB Hall of Fame Inductee 2018

The Association of Australian Convention Bureaux (AACB) and IMEX Group are pleased to announce Mr Mike Cannon as the AACB Hall of Fame inductee for 2018. The announcement was made at the 2018 AACB Conference on Tuesday, 14 August 2018.

Mike Cannon

Read the media release and more about Mike Cannon

Photo: Mike Cannon, 2018 Hall of Fame Inductee.

Past AACB Hall of Fame inductees

2017 - Vin Barron

2016 - Ms Sue Calwell and Mr Jon Hutchison AM

2015 - David Weston and David Hall

Postal Address
PO Box 5094, Kingston, ACT 2604
Physical Address
Level 3, 24 Brisbane Avenue
Barton, ACT 2600
Telephone 1300 692222